June 6, 2016
Safety and Enforcement Division
California Public Utilities Commission

505 Van Ness Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94102-3298

RE. REPORT OF LYFT, INC. REGARDING UNACCOMPANIED MINORS

In response to Assigned Commissioner’s Ruling Ordering the Submittal of Plans from
Transportation Network Companies that Do Not Primarily Transport Unaccompanied Minors of May
23,2016 (the “Order”), Lyft, Inc. (“Lyft”) submits the following report regarding its plans

and current practices to prevent the use of its platform by unaccompanied minors.

As Lyft explained in its comments during Phase 11, it is Lyft’s policy that
unaccompanied minors are not permitted to access or use the platform. Lyft users are
required to be at least 18 years of age, and it is Lyft’s stated policy that unaccompanied
minors are not permitted to take Lyft rides on their own. This report sets forth the
measures that Lyft currently takes to ensure that unaccompanied minors do not use the

platform, as well as Lyft’s plans to enhance these measures.
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1. HOW EACH TNC WILL PROMINENTLY NOTIFY ITS APP
SUBSCRIBERS THAT THE TRANSPORTATION OF

UNACCOMPANIED MINORS IS PROHIBITED

Prior to being able to access or utilize the Lyft application (the “app”), Lyft requires

that every user (passengers and drivers) certify that he or she is over the age of 18, through

the following process:

Each user that creates an account with Lyft is required to consent to our Terms of

Service (“Terms”). The second section of Lyft’s Terms establish the eligibility criteria for use

of the app, including age:

2. Eligibility

The Lyft Platform is available only to, and may only be used by individuals who can
form legally binding contracts under applicable law. Without limiting the foregoing, the
Lyft Platform is not available to children (persons under the age of 18) or Users who
have had their User account temporarily or permanently deactivated. By becoming a

User, you represent and warrant that you are at least 18 years old and that you have the

right, authority and capacity to enter into and abide by the terms and conditions of this
Agreement.
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As part of the sign-up process, all users must consent to these Terms, and represent
and warrant that they are over 18 years old. Accordingly, as a threshold measure, no person

can access the Lyft app without certifying that they meet this age requirement.

In addition to this conspicuous requirement in the Terms, Lyft also notifies users of
the age requirement on its “Safety Policies” webpage of the online help center. This language

can be seen here: https://help.lvft.com/hc/en-us/articles/213584258-Safety-Policies]

Finally, every landing page for our California cities (e.g.

https://www.lyft.com/cities/los-angeles) will remind passengers and drivers that

unaccompanied minors are not permitted to use the Lyft platform with the follownig
language:

In California, unaccompanied minors are prohibited from traveling with most carviers, including TNCs. In
California, a passenger must be 18 to sign up for Lyft account, but if a driver believes a passenger might be underage,
the driver may ask the passenger to confirm their age. The driver may also let a passenger know that the driver will
have to cancel the trip if the passenger is indeed under 18. In addition, drivers can report requests to transport

unaccompanied minors by contacting Lyft support.

This is the primary landing page where users look for local information about rates, coverage

areas, and airports, and therefore we believe is an effective way to reinforce this message.

The minimum age requirement is cleatly presented in the app itself, the sighup

process, and on the website. We believe these notifications are more than sufficient to
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notify app subscribers that unaccompanied minors are not permitted to access the Lyft

platform.

2. HOW EACH TNC WILL PROMINENTLY NOTIFY ITS TNC DRIVERS
THAT THE TRANSPORTATION OF UNACCOMPANIED MINORS IS
PROHIBITED, AND WHAT ACTIONS A TNC DRIVER SHOULD TAKE

IF A RIDE IS REQUESTED FOR AN UNACCOMPANIED MINOR.

By communicating the age requirement up-front and on a recurring basis, as well as
on multiple online driver resources, we are confident that drivers will be well aware of their

obligation not to transport unaccompanied minors.

Lyft communicates its safety standards — including the prohibition on transporting
. . , . . , - o
unaccompanied minors — on Lyft’s website as well as on various driver training materials.

For example, the Lyft online help center provides this guidance for drivers:

Don't pick up minors unaccompanied by an adult

Passengers are more than welcome to request rides for their friends, though we do ask that they give vou a heads up. Children

17 or under, however, are not permitted to ride without being accompanied by an adult.

! https:/ /help.lyft.com/hc/en-us/articles/214218427-Ensuring-Passenger-Safety-as-a-Driver , and
https:/ /help.lyft.com/hc/en-us/articles/213584258-Safety-Policies
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Age Requirement

In California, unaccompanied minors are prohibited from traveling with most carriers, including TNCs. In California, a

passenger must be 18 to sign up for Lyft account, but if a driver believes a passenger might be underage, the driver may ask
the passenger to confirm their age. The driver may also let a passenger know that the driver will have to cancel the trip if the
passenger is indeed under 18. In addition, drivers can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors by contacting Lyft

support,

In addition to the website and the Terms, Lyft plans to reinforce this age requirement
by ensuring that it is communicated both at the onboarding stage and at regular intervals
once drivers are on the road. To this end, we plan to include within our new driver
onboarding information to applicants that they are not permitted to transport
unaccompanied minors. This message will then be reinforced with reminders to the drivers,
sent at least on a quarterly basis. One such driver-focused communication is the “driver
digest” email newsletter, which provides drivers with tips and updates, as well as key
information about local rules and requirements. Another channel for reinforcing this

message is the driver help center.

If a driver suspects that a ride is being requested for an unaccompanied minor, the

driver should alert Lyft’s support team immediately, and Lyft will reach out to the user to
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alert them this activity is prohibited. As shown above, these instructions are included on

Lyft’s website.

3. HOW EACH TNC WILL TRACK AND VERIFY THAT
UNACCOMPANIED MINORS ARE NOT BEING TRANSPORTED BY A

TNC DRIVER

Lyft has a number of measures in place to track and verify that unaccompanied

minors are not being transported by a TNC driver:

® DPassengers signing up to use the Lyft app must follow the same process outlined
above in response to Question 1. Therefore, each user that requests a ride through
the application has already verified that he or she is over 18, and will have been
informed through the Terms that the transportation of unaccompanied minors is
strictly prohibited.

® Lyft also has measures in place to prevent unaccompanied minors from being
transported by a TNC driver. The app provides drivers with the first name and

image provided by the person associated with the account. Lyft instructs drivers to
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ask riders “what’s your name?” when they arrive at the pickup location, and to ensure
it matches the name provided in the app.2 This serves the dual purpose of ensuring
that the right passenger gets in the right vehicle, and also helps to verify that the
passenger has consented to the Terms.

® Lyft also has a robust complaint management and tracking system, which enables it to
track complaints by driver, and type of complaint. These complaints can easily be

submitted directly through the app, by phone, or by email.

We believe these measures are more than sufficient to track and verify that

unaccompanied minors are not accessing the platform.

4. HOW EACH TNC WILL ENFORCE THE PROHIBITION AGAINST

TRANSPORTING UNACCOMPANIED MINORS

Currently, Lyft treats reported violations of the age requirement in the same manner
as other violations of the Terms — in which drivers and passengers can be deactivated
depending on severity and other aspects of the reported offense. As explained in more detail
below, if Lyft receives multiple complaints that this type of prohibited activity is occurtring,

the driver or passenger account will be deactivated.

2 https://help.lvft.com/hc/en-us/articles /214219587-Picking-up-the-Wrong-Passenger .
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lyft

5. WHAT ACTIONS EACH TNC WILL IMPOSE ON THE TNC APP
SUBSCRIBER THAT REQUESTS THAT A TNC DRIVER TRANSPORT

AN UNACCOMPANIED MINOR

If Lyft receives complaints that the user is a minor, a Lyft employee will contact the
user to verify their age. In the event that the user is under the age of 18, the account will be
immediately deactivated, as it is a violation of our Terms for an account holder to be under

18 years of age.

If, instead, Lyft receives a complaint that a user is requesting rides on behalf of
unaccompanied minors, Lyft will reach out to the user to alert the user that requesting a Lyft
on behalf of unaccompanied minors is prohibited, and a violation of Lyft’s Terms. If Lyft
receives multiple complaints that this type of prohibited activity is occurring, the passenger’s

account will be deactivated.

6. WHAT ACTIONS EACH TNC WILL IMPOSE ON THE TNC DRIVER

THAT TRANSPORTS AN UNACCOMPANIED MINOR

If Lyft receives a complaint of a driver transporting unaccompanied minors, Lyft will

reach out to the driver to provide additional training and reminders that this type of activity
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is prohibited. If Lyft receives multiple complaints that this type of prohibited activity is

occurring, the driver’s account will be deactivated.

7. IF A TNC IS PLANNING TO EXPAND ITS SERVICES TO INCLUDE
THE TRANSPORT OF UNACCOMPANIED MINORS, INCLUDING
WHERE SUCH SERVICES IS ONE OF A RANGE OF SERVICES
OFFERED BY THE TNC, ITS PLAN FOR MEETING THE
REQUIREMENTS OF D.16-04-041 AND D.97-07-063 AND REQUESTING
COMMISSION APPROVAL OF ITS LICENSE TO PERFORM SUCH

OPERATIONS BEFORE INITIATING THE SERVICE.

Lyft currently has no plans to expand its services to include the transport of

unaccompanied minors in California.

Dated: June 6, 2016 LYFT, INC.

Andrea Ambrose Lobato
Director, Regulatory Compliance
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